Brian Eno Announces New Album


Inspired by the disaster of the Titanic in 1912, ‘The Ship’ is Brian Eno’s first solo album since 2012’s ambient workout ‘Lux’, and is released via Warp on April 29th.

The 47-minute offering includes the 21 minute title track, and also features a cover of the Velvet Underground’s “I’m Set Free,” which Eno described as “even more relevant now than it did then.”

Eno’s press statement is below:

On a musical level, I wanted to make a record of songs that didn’t rely on the normal underpinnings of rhythmic structure and chord progressions but which allowed voices to exist in their own space and time, like events in a landscape. I wanted to place sonic events in a free, open space.

One of the starting points was my fascination with the First World War, that extraordinary trans-cultural madness that arose out of a clash of hubris between empires. It followed immediately after the sinking of the Titanic, which to me is its analogue. The Titanic was the Unsinkable Ship, the apex of human technical power, set to be Man’s greatest triumph over nature. The First World War was the war of materiel, “over by Christmas,” set to be the triumph of Will and Steel over humanity. The catastrophic failure of each set the stage for a century of dramatic experiments with the relationships between humans and the worlds they make for themselves.  

I was thinking of those vast dun Belgian fields where the First World War was agonisingly ground out; and the vast deep ocean where the Titanic sank; and how little difference all that human hope and disappointment made to it. They persist and we pass in a cloud of chatter.

The Ship’ will be accompanied by a series of installations where listeners will be able to hear an “alternative telling of The Ship in multi-channel 3-dimensional sound installations,” according to a press release.

Available 29th April in the following formats:

CD, 8 page booklet and 4 art cards in case bound CD wallet with spot gloss UV and cloth bound spine

CD and 8 page booklet in wallet

2LP in printed inners in gatefold with 4 art prints

Ltd Edition 2LP on transparent vinyl in printed inners in gatefold with 4 art prints (Bleep, Enoshop and other participating stores only)


Track listing:

The Ship:
01 The Ship
02 Fickle Sun: (i) Fickle Sun (ii) The Hour is Thin (iii) I’m Set Free



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s